Home > Home


The UCT Division of Emergency Medicine was formed in 2001, at the same time as that of Stellenbosch University. Historically the two Divisions have worked closely together under the banner of Emergency Medicine Cape Town (EMCT).  EMCT is a joint venture between the two Universities and Western Cape Government: Health.  The speciality of Emergency Medicine became nationally recognised in 2003, with the College of Emergency Medicine (CEMSA) founded in 2004, and EMCT took the lead to become the first South African institution to offer a specialist exit degree in Emergency Medicine that same year.

These are proving to be exciting times for emergency medicine in the region, and this speciality is fast becoming a vital foundation for health care in the Western Cape, South Africa and Africa.  Today the Division of Emergency Medicine at UCT offers several postgraduate degree options, including doctoral degrees.  It hosts the largest emergency medicine school in Africa and contributes significantly to emergency medicine research produced on the continent.

At the UCT Division of Emergency Medicine, we aim to:

  • Offer internationally competitive educational experiences rooted in African emergency care principles
  • Strengthen undergraduate training in emergency medicine and increase the number of emergency medicine specialists in South Africa
  • Drive postgraduate and research outputs in South African and African emergency care
  • Improve access to emergency care in Africa through education, research, and advocacy
  • Provide strategic support to Ministries, Universities and other stakeholders developing emergency care in Africa, including in system strengthening, training and research  

We respect the values of all our faculty and students and strive to ensure a diverse, equitable, and inclusive emergency care community. As such we maintain a zero-tolerance approach towards racism, sexism, bullying, and xenophobia and are dedicated to transforming institutional culture within emergency care.